Eat That Frog!

Standard
motivation, DBT, depression, anxiety

Photo © William McBroom 2013

Sometimes the day just feels so daunting, filled with unpleasant tasks and to-dos. On those days, it can be hard to even get going on the small things, much less tackle the large stuff.

The key for getting stuff done, and thereby often improving our mood, is momentum. Yes, that’s right, momentum. When the day feels like Mount Everest, it’s far too easy to just rest at the base camp and wait until the mountain goes away.

But it never does. Everest will always be there, until we begin to take the steps to climb it.

And that’s where the frog comes in. The frog represents that one task that’s been on your mind for a long time that just keeps wearing you down. For me, it’s phone calls.

I have to make various phone calls every day, but it’s just one of those tasks that I want to put off because it creates a sense of anxiety in me. But the more I put it off, the more anxiety it produces. Well, you can see where I am going here.

So I make a plan to return and make all my phones calls as early as possible in the day. That’s my frog. Once my frog is out of the way, I feel less anxiety and more momentum to get more stuff accomplished.

The frog theory is simple: pick the one thing that, if that was the only thing you were to accomplish that day, you could feel good about yourself. And then, close your eyes, take a deep breath and…eat that frog!

Thanks for reading, and be well!

All credit is due to Brian Tracy and his book Eat That Frog, check it out on Amazon .

Leave a Reply

