Taking the First Steps

Standard
journey, acceptance, motivation, depression, healthy, mental health

Alberobello, Italy © A. Pierce, 2005

One of my favorite all times quotes is by the Chinese philosopher Laozi, it goes like this;

“The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.”

I love how it puts life into perspective. No matter who you are or what type of journey you’re on, it always begins with a step. Just one, single step.

And the picture to the right seems to go with the quote nicely as well. A journey of a thousands miles begins with a single step AND it begins right where you are.

So many times we can struggle with wanting to be in another place (physically, metaphorically, emotionally, psychologically…well, you get the picture), but we put it off until something about our current state has changed.

As easy example is one I can take from my own life. I always tell myself that I will start to eat healthier…but after the holidays or after a few weeks when I am supposed to meet up with friends a lot. And you know what? That journey never takes off, I never take that first step thinking that way.

However, when I think, “Hmm…what is a healthy breakfast I can eat this morning?” and not worry so much about the next day or week (or even about lunch), the first steps come much easier.

So whether it is working out, eating right, focusing on improving a relationship, a career, or whatever journey is before us, if we focus on the small steps in front of us instead of the goal a thousand miles away, we can begin that journey with confidence and momentum.

Thanks for reading, and be well!

2 thoughts on “Taking the First Steps

Leave a Reply

