Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This

Standard
acceptance, encouragment, sayings, help, depression, anxiety, work problems

Days when the grass sticks to your nose.

I have never been a big fan of “encouraging” cliches and meaningless platitudes. They often come from well meaning people, but at the wrong time and sometimes for the wrong reason.

But this post is about a cliche, or saying…actually song lyric that I DO find helpful. You might have noticed it in the title, “Momma said there’d be days like this…”

I am not sure why these particular words are comforting to me, but they are. They help me to roll with the punches and not take any one particular day too seriously (or week, or month as the case may be). It reminds me the life is not always fair and that we do not always get what we want or deserve. But it does so in a way that takes me out of my own personal suffering and into an “universal law” – that indeed momma said there’d be days like this – but not to worry because, well, they are to be expected.

And because I am to expect them, it makes it a little easier to survive them. I guess it allows me to emotionally detach myself a little from the problems and expectations of the day. And it gives me a smile, which always helps my day.

Whether the struggle is work, financial, social, spiritual, emotional, or relational, I can always remember what momma said. And it gives me perspective, but most of all, it simply helps.

And to top it all off, you can check out a video that will hopefully make you smile and remember what momma says.

Thanks for reading, and be well!

Leave a Reply

